In this post, we will see user management in WordPress. WordPress lets us add new users with specific permission. This user can perform operations like adding the text content, users, media, etc. Click on the users option to manage the users.
In WordPress, there are multiple roles of users. We can assign them while creating the user. So following are the users role:
Subscriber:- User with this role can log in into WordPress account and can modify his/her profile. Subscriber can not write the post, or make changes in the admin area.
Contributor:- Contributors can write and edit their posts or pages, but they can not publish them. In order to publish them, contributors need to be reviewed the content by the admin. Once published post can not be edited by the Contributor. Also, they can not upload any pictures or files.
Author:- Authors can add, edit, delete, and publish their own posts. He/She can also upload pictures or files. They can not create new categories but can use an existing one. They can add tags to their posts.
Editor:- Editor has full access to manage the posts, comments, categories, and tags. Editors can create, update, delete, publish posts and pages. They just can’t do any changes to the WordPress site.
Administrator:- Administrator can do all the things like create, update, delete posts and pages. Also can create tags, categories. Also, admin can do the site changes like installation of themes and plugins. Can create users and assign roles to them.
As you can see under the Users there are options to manage the users for your WordPress site. Under that, we have the All Users option. It shows the list of all the users. From here we can edit or delete any user. So right now there is only one user which is codetej and its a admin. You can perform bulk actions from here. You can select multiple users at once and apply your desired action like delete, sending password reset, or can change the user’s role.
Add New User
As you can see, we have to fill out the form to create a new user when we click on Add New option. In that form, you need to add the user’s username, email, First and Last name(optional), website, password. You can check the checkbox which says send email to a new user so that he/she will get information on their account details. After that, you will see the dropdown where you can select the role for the user. After filling in all the information you can click on Add New User button.
The third option is the Profile of a particular user. Here you can modify the profile of the current user with which you are logged in. There are many sections that show more options than just profile details.
- Personal Options
In the personal options, there is the Visual Editor option, if you check it then you won’t be able to see the various tags to add while creating the post or page. You’ll need to write the HTML code by yourself. The next option is only visible for users having admin roles. It disables syntax highlighting when we are writing the code. Syntax highlighting is a feature of text editors, which shows the multiple colors and fonts to read and analyze the code. So it will not show any different colored text and font.
The next option is Keyboard Shortcuts i.e. if you click on Enable keyboard shortcuts for comment moderation. Then you will be able to use keyboard shortcuts to moderate the comment.
The next option i.e. Show Toolbar when viewing the site shows the toolbar at the top of the site like below. But you should be logged in to the website.
After this, there comes the Name section which contains the username of your site which will be not editable. You can fill in the details like First Name, Last Name. Nickname and Display name publicly as values will be already present.
In Contact Info, there will be an Email on which the user receives all the notifications. In the website field, you can add your website’s name.
In All in One SEO you can provide your twitter site and facebook site url. In about yourself section there is biographical info in which you can write about yourself or your organization. In profile picture you can provide the picture of yours or the logo of your organization.
Next is Account Management, where you can update your user’s password also have another option of logging out of all the systems. In the Application Passwords you can create a password which will be used by API’s or services. So suppose if any service wants to login automatically in your site then you can provide this password over there. No need to provide your actual password to that service.